A purple girl.

on

If I stood amidst a room full of girls, I sure wouldn’t be the prettiest of them.

Or the smartest.

When I walk along huge crowds,  I am not easily spotted. Not the richest girl around. Not the luckiest. Neither the tallest.

I am not the most envied. My body isn’t perfect. My locks aren’t silky. My skin isn’t clear. My knees aren’t presentable.

In short,  I am no one extraordinary.

You don’t come across a girl like me,  to imagine wildflowers and hurricanes.

If you were to see me for the first time, your gaze wouldn’t linger. Even in the most flamboyant of dresses, I frequently get double takes.

I am not a shy girl. Nor am I reserved. I am not the centre of the limelight.

I am not the not intelligent, not the most outgoing, not the most determined.

In short,  I am not RED.

But that’s not what bothers me. What really hurts is that, I am not BLUE either.

I am never the ugliest girl around, never the poorest, never the shortest.

I am not the calmest person you’d find but not the quirkiest either.

Not the happiest but not the most melancholy.

I don’t get up everyday with the dream of saving the world but I am not interested in destroying it either.

I am not a loser and that has never made me a winner.

To conclude, I live in PURPLES.

Dangerous purples.

It’s like when god was busy drafting my entity, he decided I would be the perfect space filler. One among many. But never THE one.

That’s how I feel when I look around. That’s how I feel when I am rejected for anything special.

A space filler.

An extra in a theatre act.

A tree in the background , life passes by.

And that’s not hard pill to swallow either. I have lived seventeen years this way (almost eighteen now). It’s not exactly the most ideal of situations but it’s not exactly the worst kind either ( ugh, purples again).

In fact, sometimes purples come handy.

Living in purples means an unprecedented safety.

Unwanted? Yes. but secure.

I can walk through dark shadows and I know, I’ll not come across a mafia leader. I can slip in the seams in team projects and I know I’ll not be held accountable.

I can walk around sans the weight of expectation.

It’s basically, a free to being imperfect. Hell yeah.

Because nothing extraordinary ever happens to me, I don’t have to prepare for it.

Because I am not enough to garner attention, I don’t have to force myself into trying.

Existence without expectations. What bliss.

Not the healthiest lifestyle, but the easiest.

When you are purple, like me, you know the plane you are traveling in, will not be hijacked. Even if it is,  people won’t count on you to save them.

If you are purple, you know that a spider bite won’t turn you in a super hero.

When you are purple, you don’t expect magic, fairies, true-love and Hogwarts.

And purples are slow poison to you heart.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. LesleighHart says:

    Purple is my favourite colour. It is a strong colour with good associations. It is the colour for royalty, Prince, epilepsy awareness, and for lesbians. A purple woman is whom she wishes to be. Good luck in your journey, Purple Girl.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This is the sweetest thing anyone has ever said to me. I’m so sooo grateful that I can’t even :’) you made my day. Thank you sunshine.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. LesleighHart says:

        It was my pleasure and honour.

        Like

      2. (´༎ຶ ͜ʖ ༎ຶ `)♡

        Like

Leave a comment