Chapter 5

on

Dearest Gracey.

Your father died around your seventeenth birthday. You cried on my shoulder all night. As I caressed your hair and cradled you. I remember you fell asleep in my arms that night. I hurt me to see you in pain.

A few days later, I found your limp body hanging from the fan. You attempted suicide. 

We rushed you to the hospital. I was teary, sweaty and frightened. 

I stayed with you all night. Holding your hand. I whispered poetry in your ears. Poetry about you. That I wrote myself. I sung to you as you laid there almost lifeless. Never once did I let your hand go. 

I didn’t sleep that night. I couldn’t.

Next morning, the doctors said you would be alright. But I wouldn’t believe them till you opened your eyes.

I swear I would have killed myself, if you didn’t open your eyes.

I couldn’t dare envision a life without you.

I was next to you, holding your hand- fingers entwined when you opened your eyes. You smiled at me. I burst into tears yet again. I held you close to me as I kissed all over your face. Again and again.  I told you everything would be alright. Your smile grew. I knew you believed me.

You said you remember those poem I sang to you that night. But I don’t believe you do. 

I took you home with me. My home. Now, ours.

That day, I promised myself I would keep you safe. I would kill for your smile. That I would make it the mission of my life to protect you. To love you.

And I told you that. I told you, “I love you”. Three simple words that took all my courage to speak. I meant those words more than I can tell you in words. I love you and I promise to love you till the last breath leaves my body.

You said,” I love you too” and your eyes shined brighter than they ever did. Ofcourse, I believed you. And it made my heart beat faster than ever before. I kissed your soft lips. Like delicate feather, Because I was afraid I would bruise you if I wasn’t soft with them. You kissed me back with an equal hunger.

I promised to you that I would protect everyone from bullying. That I would make it my purpose to do something about bullying.I would save whoever I can from bullies like me.

Bullying isn’t a game. I knew that by then.

Now, we are thirty. Married and happy. You are sunshine. You smile. You skip around. You care. You are you. And I couldn’t love you more. Our kids look just like you and me. It makes my heart flutter in my chest whenever I look at them. You have taught them right. They aren’t like me. They are no bullies. They are heroes. They help others. I am so thankful to god, I have you.

I know things aren’t always great. But I promise to make them. For you. For our kids. For everyone out there who is bullies or who witnesses bullying without standing against the bullies. I will make up for all the evil things I ever did to you. I promise. I will. Because you deserve that. 

So, tonight when I told you this. You kissed me and said you are more than happy to be with me.

Those words mattered more than me than I can put into words.

Love,

Your willy.
————–
This was the last letter. Thank you to anyone reading this. I wrote it when I was fourteen. The only reason,  I ever got to uploading this was a beautiful tale that will best remain untold. Love to whoever you are. If you ever come across a bully, stand against him. If you ever come across a victim, stand next to him. You are doing yourself a favour. That’s humanity.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. surrealisticdreams says:

    This series spoke deeply to me. I have been on the receiving end of the bully’s torment. It isn’t kind and it certainly does not help build strength and character. It takes something from us. How creatively brilliant you are and your final note is moving. Wonderful, E!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was really young when I wrote it. Had seen bullies, was bullied, had been through it all. Had no other solace than to pen it down. I was also a hopeless romantic and therefore, I jotted this down. The fact that you took out time to read it and that you liked it has made my morning turn into a song of glee. Thank you so, so much Holden. You are sunshine.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. surrealisticdreams says:

        I am sorry you had to experience being bullied and witness it happening to others. Though, I expect many of us have been in the same position. Your writing skills at fourteen were wonderful. No wonder you are a natural 🙂 You are welcome, Dutchess, and thank you for the kind compliment 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Coming from you, it means the world

        Liked by 1 person

      3. surrealisticdreams says:

        Aw, it’s my pleasure, Dutchess. 🙂

        Like

Leave a comment