A land of fear

on

They took a hammer, struck it hard.

Took no mercy, broke my heart.

They used a driller, drilled my brain

All the memories, drained like rain.

With the waves rising ever high,

and winds blowing ever fast.

There is no clue or sign,

To how long this solitude will last.

“Do this, not that. Life’s a tit for tat,

what we tell you, is for your best”

I followed suit, never once rebelled…

Days turned to months, life turned to

hell.

‘Revolution inalienable to growth,

freedom supposedly,  the birthright to all.’

But I was a girl, which meant no hope.

And I was in in torn in pieces  by

remorse.

I lived in a town,

where monsters reigned.

I asked to dream,

but was demeaned.

I lived in a town, unsuited for girls.

I lived in a town where demons

howled.

Here only males, could rule the land

Our breaths and dignity was in their

hands.

I lived in a land, quite unknown.

because stepping outside was never a

boon.

Superstitions and black magic ruled

our lives,

For raising your voice death was the

price.

Yes, I was a girl, so injustice was alright

Since we were subdued, nobody

thrived.

Men were strong and loud and harsh,

but that was indeed brave, as they

fought in wars.

The mothers cried, when girls were

born,

wished for a boy to ultimately bloom.

Not because they thought, we were

any less.

But because they grew up in the mess

There, where I lived, people sold child

brides.

If you were a girl, you barely

survived.

In the land full of chameleons, and

reptiles,

How beauty was a curse?

No one realized.

Where humans were slaves like

rodents and termites,

The right to freedom, girls were

deprived.

I lived in a land of unsafe nights

of unsaid words and stolen light.

I lived somewhere where everyone

was tagged,

on stupid things like what one wears

The world was full of fears and traps,

one’s worst fear was another man.

In here, being good was never a fad

The more one tried to change things,

The more insults she bagged.

All around us were selfish souls,

All around the city were dark-dark

roads.

Education was reserved only for well

offs.

But most were from a poor

household.

I was a girl from a place unknown,

I was star-dust, A hurting soul.

Now that place is so-called evolved,

But nightmares still share stories

untold.

~ED

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow! This is heartbreaking

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment